In the Standard Platform League, soccer is played with a standardized robot platform, i.e. all teams use the same hardware and only differ in the software they develop. For the tenth time at the RoboCup German Open, the humanoid robot NAO, manufactured by the company SoftBank Robotics, is used as standard platform.

NAO is equipped with up to 25 actuated joints. In its head, two cameras are integrated for perceiving the environment. In its chest, sonar sensors measure distances and gyroscopes and accelerometers allow determining the torso’s pose. In the feet there are sensors to measure ground contact and the contact with the ball. Teams of five robots play against each other on a 9 x 6 m² sized field. The robots are acting completely autonomous. However, through Wi-Fi, they can communicate with each other and receive the decisions of the referee.

Since 2018 the new NAO version 6 in the RoboCup German Open is used. The computer integrated in the new model is significantly more powerful than the one built into its predecessor. The rules get continuously closer to the ones of human soccer.

Teams
B-Human, Universität Bremen und Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (Germany)
Bembelbots, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (Germany)
Berlin United, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (Germany)
Dutch Nao Team, Universiteit van Amsterdam (Netherlands)
HULKs, Hamburg University of Technology (Germany)
Nao Devils, TU Dortmund (Germany)
Nao-Team HTWK, HTWK Leipzig (Germany)
NomadZ, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
RoboDucks, HTBLA Leonding (Austria)
rUNSWift, UNSW Sydney (Australia)
SPQR, Sapienza University of Rome (Italy)
Starkit, Moscow institute of physics and technology (Russia)

League Chairs

Dr. Thomas Röfer (DFKI Bremen)
Pattrick Göttsch (TU Hamburg)
chair-spl@robocupgermanopen.de

In der Standard Platform League wird Fußball mit einer standardisierten Roboterplattform gespielt. Das bedeutet, dass alle Teams dieselbe Hardware einsetzen und sich nur in der entwickelten Software voneinander unterscheiden. Zum zehnten Mal wird bei einer RoboCup German Open der humanoide Roboter NAO der Firma SoftBank Robotics als einheitliche Plattform eingesetzt.

Der NAO hat bis zu 25 angetriebene Gelenke. Im Kopf sind zwei Kameras für die Wahrnehmung der Umgebung integriert, in der Brust befinden sich Ultraschallsensoren zur Entfernungsmessung sowie Gyroskope und Beschleunigungssensoren zur Messung der Körperlage. In den Füßen gibt es Sensoren zur Messung des Bodenkontakts und des Kontakts mit dem Ball. Teams aus jeweils fünf NAOs spielen auf einem 9 x 6 m² großen Spielfeld gegeneinander. Sie agieren dabei vollkommen autonom. Sie können aber u.a. per WLAN miteinander kommunizieren und die Entscheidungen des (menschlichen) Schiedsrichters empfangen.

Seit dem Jahr 2018 wird mit dem neuen NAO Version 6 bei den RoboCup German Open gespielt, dessen integrierter Computer über eine gegenüber dem Vorgängermodell erheblich gesteigerte Rechenleistung verfügt. Die Regeln nähern sich immer weiter denen des menschlichen Fußballs an.

League Chairs

Dr. Thomas Röfer (DFKI Bremen)
Pattrick Göttsch (TU Hamburg)
chair-spl@robocupgermanopen.de